Stay Informed!

Sign up for one
of our newsletters.


To honour health care professionals, annual awards of excellence are offered through the Neuroscience and Psychosocial Oncology professional associations.

CAPO Award

Award for Excellence in Psychosocial Oncology

This annual award is presented to a member of the Canadian Association of Psychosocial Oncology (CAPO) CAPO Logoto acknowledge the important work of psychosocial oncology professionals. CAPO members are invited to submit abstracts, for the annual CAPO conference. Abstracts may reflect clinical practice, education or research related to the neuro-oncology population.

2023 Winner – Marco Bonanno

Julia Daun

We are thrilled to announce our 2023 CAPO Conference Awards Recipient! The purpose of this award is to promote the dissemination of information related to the psychosocial care of children/adults/families with brain tumours and is given to support oncology professionals in continuing education activities.

Congratulations to award winner Marco Bonanno for his project entitled “Translating research data into practice to improve the trajectories of AYA pediatric brain tumour survivors (PBTS) following treatment: Preliminary results of two focused workshops, with different stakeholders, in Québec”.

2022 Winner – Julia Daun

Julia Daun

The Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada has established an award of excellence to acknowledge the exemplary work of psychosocial oncology professionals, in collaboration with CAPO.

We were pleased to award Julia Daun for her presentation titled: Capturing the Neuro-Oncology Patient Experience in Exercise Programming

Award Amount: $1,500.00 (along with a framed recognition certificate).

From everyone here at Brain Tumour Foundation of Canada, congratulations and well done Julia!

October 2022 Update


2021 Winners

Congratulations to our 2021 winners, an amazing team of nursing students from the Ingram School of Nursing at McGill University for their work on the Sibling Support Project.

Left to right: students Aviva Wang, Leah Tracey, Nilani Thuraisingham, Sydney Wasserman and Thomas_Saikaley and graphic artist Mégane Pépin


Previous winners:

Winner 2020: Mehak Stokoe
Winner 2019: Maureen Parkinson, BC Cancer Agency
Winner 2018: Leandra Desjardins, SickKids
Winner 2017: Tom Hack
Winner 2016: Mark Collins
Winner 2015: Dr. Douglas Ozier, Dr. Matias Mariani, and Maureen Parkinson
Winner 2014: Dr. Douglas Ozier
Winner 2013: Dr. Matias Mariani
Winner 2012: Maureen Parkinson
Winner 2011: Dr. Matias Mariani
Winner 2010: Dr. Kim Edelstein
Winner 2009: Dr. Robert Olson
Winner 2008: Guy Pelletier & Tracy Wormsbecker

Interested in Professional Development Grants for Health Care Professionals?

Learn more